BBA LRS Intern Shares Co-Op Experience

Every six months, the Boston Bar Association hires a co-op student from Northereastern University to work with the BBA Lawyer Referral Service. We asked Samantha Odreman, who is currently five months in to her co-op, to share her experiences with our readers.

 

My Co-op Experience
Samantha Odreman – LRS Intern
Northeastern University, Sophomore
International Affairs with French, Psychology and Social Entrepreneurship Minors
From: Venezuela

 Five months ago I began my first Cooperative Education (Co-op) experience working as an LRS Intern at the Boston Bar Association. When I started working for a bar association, I didn’t know what to expect. I wasn’t sure what exactly I would be doing, or what the role of a bar association was in the community. As I near the end of my internship, I realize what an opportunity I have been given to explore and analyze different career paths and make informed decisions about my future.

From the theoretical world of school and books, I have come face to face with the legal profession and its many different facets, and have decided that someday, after much more preparation and experience, perhaps I could become a part of that world as a successful attorney. As an LRS Intern I have learned how important it is to carefully listen to issues and how equally important it is to analyze them in order to help people get to the appropriate legal assessments and resources. The LRS is a dedicated public service that works to reduce the gap between the underserved communities and the legal world. Each year, the Lawyer Referral Service helps thousands of people by connecting them to attorneys and other legal services that can assist with their needs. As the largest public service initiative of the Boston Bar Association, the LRS has attorneys that practice in more than 350 areas of law who also offer a variety of fee structures. In addition, the LRS also works with other community organizations to make sure everyone has the chance of getting legal assistance no matter what their financial situation might be.

During my experience at the BBA, I have learned to work hard by following the example of a wonderful group of people who give their best each and every day to achieve their goal and help the BBA increase the number of people that it can help each year.* This opportunity gave me the confidence to pursue my own goal as I continue my studies. I want to do productive and meaningful work that will contribute to alleviate the many needs of society. The Boston Bar Association is a leader in serving the community and I am so grateful to have been a part of it for a little while. I really don’t think I could have had a better first experience in a better place than here at the BBA where people are committed and ready to serve and who want to improve access to justice for all.

*We promise we didn’t force Samantha to say this!

About BostonBar

The Boston Bar Association, which also goes by the acronym BBA, is a volunteer non-governmental organization in Boston, Massachusetts.

Posted on May 29, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

