BBA Summer Jobs Widens the Pipeline

Imagine that you are a high school student again. You have nearly completed your sophomore, junior or senior year.  You are a student in one of the 28 high schools in Boston.   You might be a freshly minted graduate, ready to enter college in the fall. You come from one of the 21 diverse Boston neighborhoods.   In addition to English, you may speak Spanish, Vietnamese, Haitian Creole, Chinese or one of the 77 home languages spoken by Boston Public Schools students.   You decide to apply and are accepted to the Boston Bar Association’s Summer Jobs Program.

Since 1993, the BBA has introduced over 300 young adults to the legal profession.  This year, the Program will provide 56 students with positions in area law firms, legal offices, government and legal services agencies.  This represents a record-breaking number of participants.   Summer Jobs interns represent a motivated and high-achieving group of students in Boston. 

As we enter the 19th year of the Program, Beyond the Billable wanted to reach out to some of Program alumni – to find out where they are now, how they got there and what their experiences as Summer Jobs interns meant for them.   These are their stories. 

Khimmara Greer

Khimmara Greer, Esq.

Contract Attorney

Summer Jobs Program – 1999

I grew up in Dorchester. I attended John D. O’Bryant High School in Roxbury and Regis College in Weston. After graduating from college, I worked at WGBH for three years. Becoming an attorney was always a dream of mine, so I decided to pursue my dreams and entered North Carolina Central University School of Law, located in Durham, NC, in the fall of 2008. I graduated law school in May 2011 and passed the NC bar in July 2011. Since graduating from law school, I have been working as a temporary document review contract attorney on various litigation projects, and continue to seek permanent employment.

Bingham McCutchen, LLP, formerly Bingham Dana, LLP, was the law firm I interned at in the summer of 1999. The most important thing I learned throughout my internship was how to conduct myself in a professional environment. This was my first exposure to the corporate world, as it is for many of the students who participate in the Program, and it laid a solid foundation that I have built on over the past few years. While in college, I was an Inroads intern for three summers (interned at Blue Cross Blue Shield of MA and Fidelity Investments for two summers) and I felt like I was a few steps ahead of some of my colleagues because of my experience as a BBA Summer Intern.

My favorite memory from the Program was being selected as the female student to give a speech at the end of summer graduation. I felt very honored and was very nervous at the same time, but it was a great learning experience for me and gave me the opportunity to work on my public speaking skills. I still have the picture I took with Mayor Menino and the male student speaker. It is a good reminder of how far I have come.

There are many benefits to having a teen in the office. However, in my opinion, the most important benefit is an opportunity for attorneys and their staff to give back to the community by mentoring teens in the community through the BBA Summer Program both directly and indirectly. Giving back to the community is extremely important because positively influencing the lives of teens assist in creating well-rounded adults, and the next generation of professionals.

My experience as a BBA Summer Intern helped me to become an even more diligent student. I admired the attorneys throughout my summer internship and was inspired by their accomplishments, which made me work even harder. One of my goals was to be in their shoes one day, to become a successful attorney, and I continue to persistently work towards that goal.  

Chioma with her father at the Boston College Law School graduation

Chioma Akukwe

Boston College Law School Class of 2012

Summer Jobs Program – 2000

My name is Chioma Akukwe. I recently graduated from Boston College Law School this May, and hope to practice as a litigator here in MA. As a Brighton High School student, I avoided destructive behavior common among inner city youth because of the outreach programs led by lawyers and judges of the Commonwealth. It all started with the BBA Summer Jobs Program.

During my sophomore year in high school, I participated in the Boston Bar Association (BBA) Summer Jobs Program, where I was introduced to the legal profession and the idea of law school as an attainable and attractive goal. While at the BBA Summer Jobs Program, I interned at Rackemann, Sawyer and Brewster.

Thanks to outreach programs like the BBA Summer Jobs Program, I experienced extensive legal-career-related tasks by the young age of 16. I also acquired career role models such as Chief Judge Wolf, who has served as my mentor throughout college and law school. My experience with outreach programs in high school played a critical role in my ultimate decision to go to law school.

I attribute my success at the College of the Holy Cross and Boston College Law School to the public interest lawyers who were determined to make a difference by introducing disadvantaged Boston youth to the inner workings of the justice system.

After my 1L year, I interned at Microloan Foundation (MLF), an organization that helps disenfranchised African women provide basic necessities for their families by giving them small loans to start businesses. I participated in the Boston College Law School’s London Semester Externship Program during the second semester of my 2L year. The externship part of my semester in London took place at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP, a large firm in London. When I returned from London, I spent my 2L summer working for the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Commercial Law Development Program (CLDP).

Since my summer with the BBA Program, I have grown to be confident, hard-working, professional and dependable. Having a BBA Summer Program Student at a law firm is not only beneficial to the student, it can also be a rewarding experience for a mentoring attorney. It is a chance to play a positive role in a teenager’s life, and possibly help shape them into a responsible adult. I am a living proof.

Emmanuelle speaking at the 2010 BBA Law Day Dinner about her experience in the Summer Jobs Program

Emmanuelle Renelique

Legal Secretary, WilmerHale

Summer Jobs Program – 2003

The most valuable things I learned during my Summer Jobs opportunity with the Boston Bar Association was the importance of good work ethic and the benefits of networking. I was a high school student who had never worked in an office until I started at Ferriter Scobbo & Rodophele.  I was challenged to perform important tasks in a fast paced environment and quickly learned how crucial it was to ask questions when I did not understand something. The attorneys and staff were very gracious and appreciative when I asked questions as it demonstrated my enthusiasm as well as good judgment in wanting to complete the task well. I also learned the importance of networking. The working relationships I established through the Boston Bar Summer Jobs resulted in many great mentors and friends. My favorite memories from program were the visiting the various courthouses and attending my first Red Sox game!

While Summer Jobs students usually have minimal office experience, they are chosen form a select pool of applicants. Law firms certainly benefit from their zeal and energy. In my opinion and based on my work with other BBA Summer Jobs students, I was able to see the great benefits in having these students exposed to a law office. In addition to the proactive and inquisitive nature of these students, they are also able to seamlessly grasp the technology given the fact that they are “digital natives.” Their creative input could prove to enhance working systems and productivity.

The BBA Summer Jobs program definitely affirmed my decision to pursue of a legal career. As an intern, I had first-hand exposure to corporate law firm culture and the working environment. The experience aided me in obtaining other internships while attending the George Washington University. While GWU, presented many internship opportunities to students, I believe my Boston Bar Summer Jobs experience gave me a competitive edge in the applicant pool.

About BostonBar

The Boston Bar Association, which also goes by the acronym BBA, is a volunteer non-governmental organization in Boston, Massachusetts.

Posted on June 7, 2012, in Public Service and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

